How To: Clear skin tips & my favourite skin saving products

Skin Type: Normal/Combination

Since turning 25 (over 2 years ago now) I decided I was starting to get old and needed to take skin care seriously! My skin care obsession has continued and I am enjoying every minute of it. My skin looks better now than it did then and I thought I would share what I am using and loving on the daily as well as a few extra tips on how to keep skin clear and break out free!

 

 

Watch what you are eating. Just be aware of how your skin reacts when you are being a little more indulgent with your food choices. I personally find my skin responds well to foods like salmon and avocado as well as spinach and berries. This makes more of a difference than any product.Berries

Drink water like its your job. I drink only tea and water most of the time. I personally aim for 2-3 liters a day. Just work out how much you need depending on your weight. It makes such a huge difference to your skin and once you make this a habit you wont know how you went so long without.

water

Wash your hands directly before applying moisturizer, primer etc. anything where you are touching your face! Seems obvious but now I am much more conscious if I touch anything else (such as put the kettle on) I re-wash my hands before touching my face.
clean hands

Clean your phone screen, whether you pick it up and hold it against your face or if you just touch your screen with your fingers it picks up so much because most of us bring it absolutely everywhere with us and mindlessly touch it more than anything else!

iphone

Same goes for your work space, for me I try to keep my keyboard clean especially as once again this just ends up picking up so much without us even realizing.

keyboard

Don’t touch your face when you can help it. Try not to lean on your hand which is a common one which is often done again without noticing. I remember hearing this on Keeping up with the Kardashians and I have to say it can take some time to get used to but it genuinely makes a difference.

no touch

Clean your makeup brushes – I know its a total chore but it makes such a big difference to your skin and also to how your makeup applies!

makeup brushes

Wash your pillow case – this is something I have started doing a lot more often and definitely feel it helps a lot. I know there’s also actual pillow cases you can get that are made to help with your skin and even slow down things like wrinkles so that intrigues me as well!

pillow

Skin Laundry Pillowcase

White Lotus Anti Aging Pillowcase

 

My Favourite Skin Saving Products

Mario Bedescu

Mario Bedescu Drying Lotion – This is something I just always have in the cupboard and pull out whenever I have a particularly annoying blemish. It dries it out and almost zaps it away overnight. I find it works best to apply before bed at the early signs of a break out and it will sort it out for you much more quickly. You just dip a cue tip all the way to the bottom of the bottle and apply as a spot treatment. Note: The solution separates (that’s how it’s supposed to be used – don’t shake it).

Creamy Hydrating Masque

Creamy Hydration Masque – I use this at night,  I always wake up thinking my skin looks much healthier after using this. This stuff is like a moisture magnet and has changed how my skins hydration so much! It smells like a spa and always relaxes me before bed.

Polishing Peel

Polishing Peel – I love this stuff! Made with pumpkin enzymes and bentonite clay it has been clinically proven to give results equivalent to microdermabrasion treatments and can be done in just a couple of minutes in your own bathroom. It resurfaces the skin and removes dull skin cells. Takes a little while to get the hang of using it but it leaves skin baby soft!

mud selfie

Glacial Marine Mud – I have been using this mask since back in high school! I am 27 now so that is a LONG time! This mud is cool and soothing, deposits 30 skin beneficial minerals whilst it draws out impurities, detoxes and increases circulation! It is my go-to when I break out and I don’t go anywhere without it! (This photo was taken in Vegas!)

REN cleansing balm

REN Purity Cleansing Balm– My beautiful bestie told me she was advised by a dermatologist that using makeup wipes as so many of us do is actually like dragging a whole lot of tiny knives across your face. Since hearing this I have cringed every time I used one. So I went and purchased this cleansing balm which smells like a heaven and you just rub it into your skin and over your eyes. You use it straight on dry skin, it breaks down the makeup and then you use warm water and the little fabric towelette it comes with to wipe it all away. Very effective and more gentle on the skin.

Lumispa

Lumispa – This is my all time best rated skin care hack. This device not only deep cleanses and pumps pores to remove dirt and impurities it also “makes the cells dance” in such a way that they produce anti ageing proteins. It also is brilliantly designed with a silicone head rather than harsh bristles, its embedded with silver and extremely hygienic! This device makes me look younger, makes my skin smoother, brighter and firmer just using it 2 mins morning and night in the shower. I am completely obsessed with this thing, best investment I’ve made.

 

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed these little tips & try out some of these amazing products!! Thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts!

 

Leave a comment